top of page
Free Kid to Good Home

Author: Ito, Hiroshi, Ito, Hiroshi, Hirano, Cathy

Children's, Teenage & educational

Published on 1 July 2022 by Gecko Press in New Zealand.

Paperback | 112 pages, Black and white illustrations with red details
146 x 204 x 13 | 218g

A comic-style chapter book about sibling rivalry and a child's impulse to run away from home-and come back again!'When my potato-faced baby brother arrived, I realized I needed a new family. No one seemed to mind when I packed my bag. I took a box and used my best handwriting to write 'FREE KID', then waited for some new parents to take me home.'Waiting in a box like an abandoned pet and encountering the passersby changes the girl's perspective. At the end of the day, when her parents pretend they need an older sister for their new baby, she is ready to leave her box and go happily back home.

This comical twist on sibling rivalry is translated from an enduring Japanese bestseller, now in its 31st edition and at last available in English.

This accessible story is perfect for children starting on independent reading and is illustrated in a graphic comic style that captures childlike subversive humour. Ideal for fans of Charles Schulz's Peanuts comic strip.

A useful book to teach young children about welcoming a new baby sibling to the family, or exploring playful sibling relationships, through funny and lighthearted storytelling.

Free Kid to Good Home

£7.99Price
    bottom of page