top of page
Summer : Winner of the Orwell Prize for Fiction 2021

Author: Smith, Ali

Fiction & related items

Published on 6 May 2021 by Penguin Books Ltd in the United Kingdom as part of 'the Seasonal Quartet' series.

Paperback | 400 pages
129 x 196 x 30 | 284g

WINNER OF THE ORWELL PRIZE FOR FICTION 2021 LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE 2021 A once-in-a-generation series, Ali Smith's Seasonal quartet is a tour-de-force about love, time, art, politics, and how we live now.

'A maestra's portrait of her age . . . remarkable' GuardianIn the present, Sacha knows the world's in trouble. Her brother Robert just is trouble. Their mother and father are having trouble. Meanwhile the world's in meltdown - and the real meltdown hasn't even started yet. In the past, a lovely summer. A different brother and sister know they're living on borrowed time.

This is a story about people on the brink of change. They're family, but they think they're strangers. So: where does family begin? And what do people who think they've got nothing in common have in common? Summer.

Discover all four instalments: Autumn, Winter, Spring and Summer. Ali Smith's new novel, Companion piece, is available now.

*****'The first great coronavirus novel - a book to savour, a literary tour de force' Evening Standard'Exquisite. Smith is in a class of her own' Nicola Sturgeon 'An astonishing finale to a prescient series . . . Ali Smith brilliantly weaves strands of joy and celebration to end her Seasonal Quartet' Irish Times

Summer : Winner of the Orwell Prize for Fiction 2021

    bottom of page