top of page
The Axeman's Jazz

Author: Celestin, Ray


Published on 5 August 2021 by PAN MACMILLAN (Pan Books) in the United Kingdom as part of 'the City Blues Quartet' series.

Paperback | 464 pages
129 x 196 x 33 | 326g

Inspired by a true story, set against the heady backdrop of jazz-filled, mob-ruled New Orleans, The Axeman's Jazz by Ray Celestin is a gripping thriller announcing a major talent in historical crime fiction.

Winner of the CWA New Blood Dagger for Best Debut Crime Novel of the YearRecommended on the Radio 2 Arts Show with Claudia WinklemanShortlisted for Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year AwardNew Orleans, 1919. As a dark serial killer - the Axeman - stalks the city, three individuals set out to unmask him:Detective Lieutenant Michael Talbot - heading up the official investigation, but struggling to find leads, and harbouring a grave secret of his own.

Former detective Luca d'Andrea - now working for the mafia, his need to solve the mystery of the Axeman is every bit as urgent as that of the authorities.

And Ida - a secretary at the Pinkerton Detective Agency. Obsessed with Sherlock Holmes and dreaming of a better life, she stumbles across a clue which lures her and her musician friend, Louis Armstrong, into the case - and into terrible danger . . .

As Michael, Luca and Ida each draw closer to discovering the killer's identity, the Axeman himself will issue a challenge to the people of New Orleans: play jazz, or risk becoming the next victim.

'A fascinating portrait of a vibrant and volatile city and a riveting read' - GuardianThe Axeman's Jazz is the first book in Ray Celestin's prize-winning City Blues quartet. It is followed by the second installment, Dead Man's Blues.

The Axeman's Jazz

    bottom of page